Thursday, 5 February 2015

The treaty of Waitangi

The Treaty of Waitangi is an agreement between the British and the Maori. William Hobson who was the Governor General was there as a representative for Queen Victoria. It was signed on the 6th of February 1840 there was also a meeting about it on the 5th the day before it was signed. It was signed at the house of James Busby who wrote most of the Treaty and encouraged the chieftains to sign it. Hone Heke was the first chieftain to sign it and urged the others to along with Tamati Waki Nene. Afterwards some disagreement was caused because of the translation from one language to another.   There are three articles in the Treaty:
1: The Queen of Britain has the right to govern New Zealand.
2: The Maori can keep there land. They must agree to only sell their land to the British.
3: All of the Maori are treated the same as the British subjects.

1 comment:

  1. Ana, it's wonderful to see you so interested and knowledgeable about your country's history. You have very precisely explained all the important aspects of the Treaty. I wonder what it must have been like to witness the signing for the people living in 1840s? Maybe you could explore why the Treaty needed to be made?